Why I love my organic veggie box

Ashurst organics

A few weeks ago I had a delicious country lunch with some of the most flavourful veggies I’ve tasted in a while at the Half Moon pub in Plumpton. Luckily for me they list all their suppliers on their menu, and our server told us that they also did boxes for delivery.

Intrigued I went and had a look on their website and ordered my first box. I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect but was very impressed when it arrived with the sheer variety in the box!

carrots

This was their smallest box too, and exceptional value at under £10, including delivery from the super helpful driver, who, when he noticed that my delivery address was an office and he was going to deliver after 5pm called me to check whether he should redeliver to another address.

It included carrots, cavolo nero, mushrooms, purple broccoli, turnip, red sweet peppers and the cutest mini-butternut squash.

Processed with VSCO with 4 preset

Needless to say the veggies were delicious and these are some of the things I made with the box ingredients:

winter minestrone

My favourite might be this winter minestrone style soup – I’m considering doing a recipe post on this so give me a shout in the comments if you’d like to see it. (turnip, broccoli, carrots.)

Processed with VSCO with 7 preset

You can never beat a good old spag bol for a winter comfort food. (mushrooms)

Processed with VSCO with 8 preset

The cavolo nero was delicious with the rest of this feast (cooked by my mama).

Processed with VSCO with 7 preset

My favourite Friday treat of goat cheese and roasted red pepper pizza – although obviously the one I want to photo to put on the blog is the one that gets a little crispy around the edges! 😉

Processed with VSCO with 7 preset
Even the turnip is photogenic! 🙂

I’m looking forward to my next box – and definitely need some good veggie recipes to try so if you know of a blog with any good ones drop a link below!

Processed with VSCO with 6 preset
I love to see veggies with a bit of mud from the field still on them.

If you’d like to get a box, Ashurst Organics deliver to various places in east and central Sussex. And never fear if there’s some veg you don’t like or can’t eat – you can customise your box. Having said that, I normally hate broccoli with a raging passion, but the purple broccoli they sent was delicious, so it can definitely pay to try something new. 😄

Get all my latest posts by joining me on Facebook, following me on Instagram or Twitter, or getting my feed on Bloglovin.

One thought on “Why I love my organic veggie box

Leave a comment